Villard Reymond is a high mountain village that enjoys a bird’s eye view of Bourg d’Oisans. The commune begins at an altitude of 820 m on the right-hand bank of the fast flowing water of the Lignarre torrent, and extends right up to the top of the Grand Renaud at 2732 m. With its Mairie at 1650 m, Villard Reymond is the highest village in Isère and the second highest village in France. Located opposite the Massif des Grandes Rousses and Alpe d’Huez, nestled at the foot of the Grand Renaud and Petit Renaud, it enjoys a south facing position, offering a wonderful view over the Massif du Taillefer.
- Traditional village
- Prégentil cliff and pastureland
- Chemin du Facteur
In the middle of a huge, closed valley and surrounded by alpine peaks, there are plenty of open-air activities on offer around Villard-Reymond, including hiking, mountaineering, and mountain biking routes that are easy or more challenging (around the Prégentil cliff). Cyclists can reach the village on a picturesque road, admiring the characteristic environment of Villard Reymond, with its alpine forests, stony cliffs and pastureland. In the winter, the area is completely unspolit, making it ideal for ski touring and snowshoeing.
History and Heritage
Until the 17th century, Villard Reymond was part of Villard Notre Dame and shared the same name: Villard-Aimon or Villard-Eymont.
In 1684, the village acquired its own parish and the name changed to Villard-
Saint-Jean. A happy consequence of this was that parishioners no longer had to take the difficult and dangerous Maison des loups path to go to church.
The current spire of Saint-Jean-Baptiste church dates back to 1776.
Renamed Villard Reymond, the commune became independent in 1790.
Until the beginning of the 20th century, farming and livestock breeding were the main economic activities of the village. During the long winter periods however, the villagers busied themselves with a variety of trades, including making rope from the hemp harvested in the village and the surrounding area. Men often went down to work in the the slate quarry at Le Villaret, whilst the women made gloves for the Grenoble glove-making industry.
An elevator was installed in 1960 for taking calves and pigs down to Bourg-d’Oisans.
In 1963, a rope-tow brought skiing to the village, although this was replaced by the ski lift (still running each winter) in 1990.
During the French Revolution, a priest named Abbé Feur, who refused to swear allegiance to the State, sought refuge in a cave, from where he held mass for the parishioners of Villard Notre Dame and Villard Reymond.
This cave, that the elderly locals call the Grotte Feur is located above the village just under the Chemin de la conduite. Situated at the end of a valley, a succession of rockfalls have made it difficult to reach.
For more information, contact Tourist office of Bourg d’Oisans
Oppening periodsFrom 01/01 to 31/12.
Closed exceptionally on January 1st, May 1st, May 8th, November 1st, November 11th and December 25th.
September to June
Monday to Saturday : 9am - 12am and 2pm - 6pm
July and August
Everyday : 9am to 6pm.